1)    Is the story interesting and compelling?
     §  Although I found the story very intriguing, will my readers? Although I know English Language Learners struggle with literacy, hearing Midge’s personal story makes the struggles more compelling to me. Will my readers feel the same way and want to hear her story?

2)    Should I include more information about Midge’s parents and their struggles to come to America?
 §       During my interview, Midge told me some details about her parents arranged marriage. She also told me that their respective families did not every see them once they came to America
    § Midge’s mother’s family disowned her because she married Midge’s father
     *Although this information is not directly related to the story, I was wondering if I should include the information to add flavor to her story.

3)      Does the story flow nicely or does it seem choppy?
    §  I wanted to be sure I stuck to Midge’s words so this makes the task of making each paragraph flow smoothly into the next without sounding like an interview. I was able to use only Midge’s words to produce this piece. I want to be sure it works well.

4)       Should I add more to the story in regards to her High School Education and learning to use a computer as an adult?
      §  I have more information regarding Midge’s high school experiences, yet they are not related to literacy, it was more in the conflict between her friends and the line divide with the American students she references as a child.
  §  I also ask Midge about her experiences with the computer since she uses one at work. Although she did not say too much in this area, I was wondering if I should add it to the piece
  §  Overall, I did not include the above information because I did not see it relevant, it is more that I could not get it to work in to her story and flow nicely. I did not want to force the information in just to include it; I wanted it to make sure the story was cohesive.

5)       Is there any components missing in the story?
     §  At first I was concerned with the length of my story. Is it long enough? However, I realize that it is quality not quantity that makes a good story. Is this a quality story that has a beginning, middle, and an end with good details?

6)    Is my story title okay?
 §  I had trouble coming up with a good title. Not sure if it should be more personal, for example: including Midge’s name, or more general as I chose to do.

7)    Does my prologue contain enough information about my interviewee?
     §  I was not sure if I need to add the setting of the interview or even more details about Midge, like her DOB, maiden name, etc.

Taylor
11/7/2010 12:01:32 pm

Lis,
My initial thoughts about your topic regarding literacy certainly strike my interest. I believe this is to be true for many of your other audience members as we are studying to become teachers. I found your prologue to be intriguing, specifically the second paragraph wherein you pose very common, logical questions that any reader would be yearning to know. I also found it interesting that half of Midge’s 1st grade class spoke Italian as well. In addition, one strength of your creative non-fiction was your ability to capture Midge’s accent. I enjoyed the less-than-perfect English she speaks when she says, “I had a nice handwriting.” Capturing Midge’s small, but significant grammatical tendencies facilitates in validating the content of the piece: that Midge struggled while learning English literacy.

Something to consider is your transition between paragraph 7 and 8. In paragraph 7 you effectively portray the camaraderie among the Italian neighbors, but then jump right into how Midge liked school in paragraph 8. Was this intentional? Maybe it was strategically written this way to accentuate her ongoing thought process? Also, in your afterword you mention that her and her husband had five children together, but you only mention the three boys and one girl. (I’m assuming just a typo)

Lastly, I found it very interesting to read about Midge’s lack of knowledge regarding English literacy, but I’m wondering in what ways, aside from academics, did this lack of knowledge affect her? Did her broken English play a role/hinder her ability to get a job? At what point/what age did it finally all “click?” There must have been a moment in her life when her English began taking off if she was able endure the interview and relay this information. If your interview footage allows for it, I think it would be an asset to your creative non-fiction to include non-academic ways in which her lack of English proficiency plagued other parts of her life(if there are any).
Overall, great job!

Reply
Alison
11/8/2010 01:43:22 am

Hi Lisa! I enjoyed reading your story. I think one of the reasons I found it so interesting is because my grandfather is from Italy & I've heard him talk about what it was like to come to America not knowing one word of English. He also only spoke Italian at home & he learned in a very similar way that Midge did.

Your story is focused & clear throughout. If possible, I would incorporate more of Midge's learning experiences. Does she remember taking her first test in English? How did she learn the meaning of the words? Was it through listening to other children or was she taught in a specific way? Also, did she teach her children Italian? If so, was it difficult for them to learn?

After reading, I was wondering if Midge ever felt that being an immigrant & a native Italian speaker helped or hindered her? Did she have trouble assimilating to the American culture? Did she struggle with the English language throughout her life?

I liked how you incorporated "goomah" and "goobah" and "Zio" and "Zia." I understand because I grew up using these terms, but for those who aren't Italian, it gives them some knowledge about the language and culture.

Good job!

Reply



Leave a Reply.