As a child, I remember interviewing my parents and grandparents for school assignments. I also remember listening to my grandparents tell stories about their childhood. I was always intrigued by their experiences. My level of comfort was always high because they were my family members who I loved and cherished. Their stories only drew me closer into their loves. Therefore, when I interviewed Mrs. Goldyn, I did not feel awkward or strange. But I did feel grateful to get to hear her story on learning literacy. I also welcomed the opportunity to get to know Mrs. Goldyn on a higher level. Her experiences as a child made me appreciate her more for the person she is today.

     As Mrs. Goldyn and I walked to the P.E. Teacher's office to conduct our first interview, she asked, "This isn't going to take long is it?" As much as I find many Senior citizens are impatient these days always wanting to keep things moving along, I think she was a bit nervous about what i was going to ask her. Although she was fully aware that I wanted to talk about her literacy experience, I think some of her past, especially admitting her parents were illiterate, may have made her feel uneasy.

     During the interview, Mrs. Goldyn said several times, "my life was dull." Yet the more questions I asked, the more her memories were recalled and relayed to me. I think she surprised herself to realize she does have a lot of history to share about her childhood and family. By recalling her school experiences, she was compelled to remember her friends and neighbors who she has long forgotten. Once we were finished our first interview, I said, "See you life was not dull. And I am happy to hear all about your childhood. I find it very interesting." Mrs. Goldyn walked back to her desk a bit taller than I remember her to be, and most impressively with a warm smile on her face. Her concern to be quick seemed to be a vague memory as our interview lasted much longer that she had thought it would.

      I have since interviewed Mrs. Goldyn a second time. I found it very amusing when I would turn off the digital voice recorder to indicate I had all the information I needed for the time being and she would start to tell a story. I would have to ask her to hold her thought so I could turn the DVR back on again. I would no sooner ask if she would like to add anything else, she would respond “No” and then she would again add another story. I, as the interviewer wanting to learn all I could would keep clicking the record button. I love the fact that Mrs. Goldyn wanted to share her story with me. Her divulging her private past to me, made me feel significant.

     My only struggle with the interview was trying not to add my thoughts and feelings to the memories Mrs. Goldyn shared with me. I often found myself wanting to share my grandparents’ struggles and stories of the past with her since they had some similar experiences. As an interviewer, I know it is important to make the interviewee feel comfortable, yet it is equally important to let them tell their story devoid of my thoughts.

      I enjoyed my role as an interviewer. I found the task to be rewarding. I feel as though I have grown as a writer. By doing this interview, I will be creating an oral history of Mrs. Goldyn’s life from her viewpoint. This will be a unique experience for me since all the stories I have every written about concerned fictitious characters. I look forward to working through the oral history process and seeing my finished creative nonfiction piece come to life.

Lola
4/23/2013 10:09:48 pm

This is a good article, however a little disappointed with the small errors and spelling mistakes. :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.